Are You Always This Childish?

Have you ever been called childish/immature or told to grow up by someone?

It’s happened to me a few times. Ironically, by people who are more immature than me. What’s even more ironic is that those same people who are insisting that I “grow up” are actually projecting their own immaturity. Because if they were mature, they wouldn’t say something so childish.There’s nothing that bothers me more (or at least I can’t think of anything) than passive aggressive nonverbal communication. Speak the fuck out or shut the fuck up and remain seated.  Is my response to someone’s incapability of using words to resolve an issue like an adult.

I’m pretty sure we’re all familiar with maturity and what is it. However, recently I was introduced to a new kind of maturity that’s called Emotional Immaturity. After doing some googling (yes, googling is a word in my book), I’ve found out and realize at the same time that emotional immaturity isn’t only a real thing, but it’s one a hell of a thing.

To explain, emotional immaturity is when you allow your emotions or feelings to overwhelm your reasoning. It means your emotions are shallow like a child, you say things along the lines of “Baby, I love you let’s be together forever” instead of “Baby I love you, but let’s try to keep this going as long as we can.” We behave in an emotionally immature manner when we are in situations that we don’t completely understand causing our responses to be ‘insensible’ or ‘unacceptable’ behavior. Because it is! Being on yo’ childish behavior is unhealthy because it can cause a person to be so emotionally immature that anything someone says or does offends them.

We all get offended or upset. But what does posting a passive aggressive Facebook status, tweet, or Insta post do? You’re not explaining your situation to anyone—which usually helps (sarcasm). Maybe, I’m different from most people… or maybe I’m not, but I’m the type of person that will try to understand why a person is acting a certain way. I’m not afraid of communication and I’m hardly ever submissive. Like, what is a sub? Throw subs for what? Ain’t nobody got time for that!

This is serious a thing though. Sometimes emotional immaturity can be because of diseases, such as attention seeking, personality disorders, depression etc… and it can happen to people of any age. Why do people act this way? My guess is as good as yours… maybe an emotional immature individual was neglected as child which resulted in a lack of them being taught healthy coping strategies. For example, an attention seeker who throws tantrums by acting out in the open making it hard for you to ignore (Drizzy), and giving you the silent treatment are only repeating what their role models did to them. Regardless of whatever the reason is, these people are hurting inside.

I’m going to throw a shot here, but I believe men are more emotionally immature than women. Simply because Being a Man in a Man’s World is hard. I say this because some guys are stuck in emotional playpens and the women in their lives are left to push them around in baby strollers (LET LIL’ ESE WALK). The problem with this is that, guys fail to realize that it’s okay to be vulnerable sometimes. You know like…I can be there with you eating ice cream as we talk about your feelings and then we can watch your favorite show (or nah). But you know what, I think emotional immaturity is the reason why most relationships fail. Guys be like… excuse madam, may I waste the next few months/years of your life with my emotional immaturity and inability to commit to a mature relationship? Call me crazy, but it’s the truth.

If you ask me, guys who are afraid of commitment are the ones who pretend to be happy, living large as a bachelor, but in actually he’s scared to let someone in and/or he hasn’t got over an ex who broke his heart so he takes it out on other women. And honey, he probably won’t introduce you to his parents or even his friends because he doesn’t expect you to get past the “we’re just dating (fucking) stage” so you’ll never talk about things like feeeeeeeeelings❤️.

Because what are those, right? You’re feelings don’t matter to a childish (emotionally immature) individual. And please, don’t confuse child-ish with child-like because there’s a clear distinction between the two. To be childlike means to be innocent as a child. To be childish means to act selfish and ill-mannered. Blah Blah Blah

To be clear, I would never fault anyone for being childish because clearly that person has deeply rooted problems. Problems that they possibly aren’t aware of or don’t want to acknowledge. It’s crazy how some people will notice the change in your attitude, but won’t notice their behavior that made you change. And this is the heart of emotionally immature people.  No matter what situation they’re in, they constantly allow their emotions to overpower their intelligence. You’re probably wondering… am I emotionally immature? Maybe, maybe not. I think you’ll know that you’ve grown once you realize that every situation doesn’t need a reaction.

The bottom line is… if you don’t expose yourself to the world you probably won’t have the necessary experiences for your emotional growth. In mingling with other people, there may be pain, but there could also be bliss.

One thought on “Are You Always This Childish?

  1. Pingback: In No One We Trust | Can't Hardly Wait...

Leave a Reply

